Story Time

More serious blog posts coming up soon but in the meantime I thought I’d tell you the story of how I came to be writing a blog.

It all started back in 2005 when I started my current research project (more about that in future posts). The research that I’m doing is part of a collaboration with a lab at Trinity college in Dublin.

This is one of the cool things about doing science, you get to work with interesting people from all over the world and as part of that you often get to travel.

Anyway, getting back to the story. One of the people I worked with was fellow post-doc Karen Walshe. Having left Trinity college she moved to London to join the science team at the British Library and invited me to join Nature Network, a social network for scientists. This was one of those seemingly insignificant events that led to far more than I would ever have imagined.

There I met a whole bunch of interesting people. Heather Etchevers you met in my first blog post, was the first person to suggest I could write my own blog. Oh no no, I thought, I don’t think I could do that. I also started bumping into Richard P. Grant quite a lot and I started following his blog, he blogs at Occams Typewriter now. Twitter came up in several discussions and RPG wrote a great blog post about how cool and useful twitter is…so I started to wonder what I was missing out on…and couldn’t resist joining.

As anyone who knows me in person or on twitter will already know, I’ve been an addict ever since!

There is loads of interesting science, scientists and science bloggers on twitter, too many to mention them all here. Eva Amsen, who also featured in a previous blog post, tweets for The Node. The Node is a community website for people who work in developmental biology. Having tweeted that I was in New York attending a very interesting conference she suggested I could write a meeting report for The Node, and that is how my first ever blog post came into being. Eva is lovely and her support made all the difference in persuading me to be brave and have a go.

Thankfully it wasn’t a disaster, a few people read the article and some even liked it! So when @AmericanBiotech wrote a blog about a meeting I was organising for my fellow post-docs at Kings I was all too happy to write a follow up blog about how the meeting went.

My third guest blog post was for the L’Oreal foundation and it really got me thinking about the freedom you have by having your own blog. None of the people I’ve written blog posts for have imposed any conditions or limitations on me but I still felt influenced by their aims. Once I started to think about starting my own blog I could almost smell the fresh air and open space.

So here I am, with the freedom to run through meadows and look for tiny creatures in bubbling streams…virtually of course!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Story Time

  1. Americanbiotech says:

    From what I’ve seen so far you are very motivated and can make things happen. Your blog’s gonna be great and I look forward to following!
    Americanbiotech

  2. Wow, thanks, that’s quite a compliment!

Leave a Reply

